Home Forums General Discussion Be Internet

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      imported_post

Anybody using the Be 24 Meg broadband service?  I was thinking of switching from BT and was curious as to the actual speed both upstream and downstream.
      Thanks
      Simon.

imported_post

I've been using them for two years now, and other than the customer service (which has become extremely poor since they were taken over by O2) it's an okay provider.

At best, you'll get 3.5 to 4Mb though so if you're signing up for speed I wouldn't bother (and SKY is cheaper anyway). The only benefit I get from them is unlimited downloads (I'm on the 24Mb Pro package).

D

imported_post

Cheers Dempers. 

Do you know what your upload speeds are like?

My BT internet is generally ok but this week the QOS has been awful with my bandwidth dropping from 2.4mbps to 400kbps.

I often work from home and my apps. are bandwidth critical so these drops in speed are not good.  I was wondering if it was weather related.

imported_post

The upload speed tends to vary quite a bit I find, but I've had up to 1Mbit upload (though that could be compression as well) at times. BE are also quite good if you use torrents (e.g. I use torrents quite frequently for Linux dists etc) as they don't speed restrict based on type of traffic.

I've never experienced any significant speed drops with BE (and even had 12Mbps with them at a previous flat).

From what I understand, they are better than most provider (BT included) in reliability…

imported_post

Simon – curious to find out what download speeds you getting with your BT broadband ?

I get anywhere from 1.8MB (maximum – early morning and off peak) to 700kbps during evening and peak times.

Was wondering if this was purely due to the Bermondsey Exchange that we are on ? I confess I don't know too much about it…

I looked on the Virgin website but the site says our postcode is not covered by their fibre optic route….